Note: We thank you all for making this inaugural dialogue a success. The transcript of the dialogue can be downloaded here.

An online global dialogue between two activists, one from India and one from the United States.

on

Nuclear Power After Fukushima

Venue DiaNuke.org’s facebook group. CLICK HERE

Date – 08 July, Friday

Time

09.00 – 09.30 AM India Time

Pakistan (Karachi) Friday, 8 July 2011, 08:30:00
China (Beijing) Friday, 8 July 2011, 11:30:00
Japan (Tokyo) Friday, 8 July 2011, 12:30:00
Australia (Canberra)    Friday, 8 July 2011, 13:30:00
South Africa (Johannesburg)    Friday, 8 July 2011, 05:30:00
Brazil (Rio de Janeiro)    Friday, 8 July 2011, 00:30:00    BRT
France (Paris)    Friday, 8 July 2011, 05:30:00
UK (London)    Friday, 8 July 2011, 04:30:00
US (New York) Thursday, 7 July 2011, 23:30:00

 

Dear Colleagues,

This Friday, July 8, 2011, at 9:00am in the morning in India, which is Thursday night in Vermont, two women are going to dialogue across the world via Facebook. This is a new form of communication, in a new century, and we are plowing new ground in our effort.

This inaugural dialogue is part of the exciting web project, Dialogues on Nuclear, Nature and Society, whose website is DiaNuke.org.

Lalita Ramdas, who recently stepped down as Chair of Greenpeace International, will participate from India.

Her perspective is from South Asia, and her experience includes working with international activists. She has her finger on the pulse of both many disparate and many overlapping communities of people working to take responsibility for their local communities in the context of a globalized technologically linked world.

Stephanie Fraser, an nuclear issues activist for 25 years, will conduct the interview from Vermont. She has been developing media models on nuclear issues for more than fifteen years.

The format of this inaugural dialogue will be as follows:

It will be conducted on the Facebook wall for the DiaNukes.org group.

It will be in text form only. (Later DiaNuke Dialogues may include video, but not yet)

The first 15 minutes will (if all goes as planned) be a two-person dialogue with Lalita Ramdas and Stephanie Fraser.

The second 15 minutes will be opened up to the guests or to the participants for discussion and debate.

IF the tech works as planned, during the entire Dialogue, a group “chat” room will be happening as well for all to comment in real time.

This is an experiment. It is new ground of communication that we are tilling.

So, a bit of patience and give is required — and happily welcomed — from all of us, the interviewer, the interviewee and the audience.

Nuclear issues are serious topics to be sure, and we recognize that the people who will attend this first Dialogue on Nuclear, Nature and Society, will likely be knowledgeable, dedicated, passionate people, and those of us organizing this, welcome all input and experience and perspective.

This endeavor is offered in the spirit of community and bridge-building, and we hope it will lead to many, many more Dialogues.

The chat transcript will be there on the FB page for later reference.

with warm regards,
Stephanie Fraser

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————

[column width=”47%” padding=”6%”]

Stephanie Fraser


Stephanie Fraser produces and hosts Personal and Political, a public affairs radio program broadcast in Vermont. Her radio show website is Personal and Political. Her show regularly covers a range of nuclear issues, especially the Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power plant and the effort to shut down the aging GE Mark I Reactor, like the ones in Fukushima in age and design.

She has been active in nuclear issues, since the late 1980s, first working to stop nuclear weapons testing with American Peace Test, then Physicians for Social Responsibility and then going to on to monitor the CTBT negotiations as a freelance activist. in the late 1990s, she worked with the Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom.

In the past decade, she has produced a visionary media project for every Non Proliferation Review Conference. In 2000, she co-founded the Reaching Critical Will project. In 2004 and 2005, on the project Banning The Bomb TV, she produced over 200 interviews with attendees to the NPT meetings that were made available online daily (before YouTube). In 2010, she utilized the New Media options of Twitter and AudioBoo to produce daily audio reports that were uploaded immediately — within seconds — after the interview took place and available globally.

[/column] [column width=”47%” padding=”0″]

Lalita Ramdas

Lalita Ramdas has been an educator and activist with a broad and varied experience spanning a professional life of over three decades. After an early career in formal primary school teaching and broadcasting, from the nineteen seventies she has focussed on development work through education with women and girls, the most marginalised and minority communities.

In the last decade Lalita’s work has taken her increasingly into examining national and global economic, social and ecological trends and developments within a human rights framework – especially looking at the connectivities with gender, minority and indigenous communities and policy formation.

Living as she does in rural india – the assault on land and other natural resources as part of the increasing domination by multinational corporations in close nexus with national governments – has seen her play an active role in enabling rural communities, women in particular – to raise their voices in  defence of their fundamental right to survival and livelihood.

Lalita believes deeply in non violent direct action as an underlying  principle of her activism – and was one of the founder members of Greenpeace India. She and her husband – a former Naval person – have been active for over two decades now in peace building activities with civil society in Pakistan and also continue to speak up against the nuclearisation and militarisation  of South Asia and especially the determination by the Indian government and scientific establishment to pursue the use of nuclear energy over renewables.

Lalita has written and spoken in a range of Fora – both national and international.

She has just stepped down as Board Chair of Greenpeace International and office which she held with distinction since January 2007 and during which time she helped to steer the organization into several fundamental new directions, while continuing to be engaged with several institutions and NGOs in India, especially in her home base in Bhaimala Village, Alibag, Raigad. She actively uses social media [Facebook] in order to engage with national and international developments and to  create awareness on these issues.
[/column] [end_columns]